Photography is a way of Life

las casas
Las Casas, Bataan, 2016

Lately, I have been contemplating with my life. Trying to recall how my 2016 went and what 2017 has in store for me.

Last year was a roller coaster ride for me in terms of life in general and my photography but thought I should focus on photography since this post is about my photographic journey. There was a time last year when I almost gave up on my love for photography. Since having a family two years ago, I seldom travel and use my dslr camera. The thought of giving up my camera and focus on what matters most in life came to my mind after not having been able to produce worthy images I can share with. But I realized it was not only through travels and using dslr should my photography will depend on.

img_3478
Eastwood, Quezon City, 2016

“The best camera is the one that’s with you.” – Chase Jarvis

img_5755
Pampanga, 2015

For the past 2 yrs, I’ve been shooting mostly using iPhone. At first, I thought I can never make images using mobile camera but since it’s the one I always have and carry, I eventually learned how to maximize its camera and focus on composition and the story in my images. The camera then became just secondary or a tool. Using my iPhone to capture images of my daily life and travels, it made me appreciate the importance of always having a camera that is portable yet decent enough to capture precious moments. They may just be a simple snaps, what matters is the photo you make have personal resonance.

img_5648
Batanes Pines-Arius, Batanes, 2016

I did have a few travel last year and from time to time, I tried to find and capture beauty in the mundane. I have learned to be creative despite the limitations of the iPhone camera, used natural light when shooting, and understood the importance of subject in photograph.  So the notion of giving up on photography really didn’t happen. I guess the quote “Once photography enters your bloodstream, it is like a disease.” is true.

But really my realization was that Photography is a way of life. You photograph base on how you feel and the way you see things.

sabtang lighthouse
Sabtang, Batanes, 2016

 

Leave a Reply

